The Coffee Life – Rochester NY Edition

IMG_20170425_145453-01-01

It’s been a hot minute or two since I’ve used this blog, and since I’ve recently moved to Rochester NY and am currently squatting in a hotel till i find an apartment, I find myself with a bit of extra time and my usual coffee addiction

Since I’ve been here i’ve obviously settled for Starbucks about a dozen times, convenience and all, but on my days off i’ve done some exploring. So far I’ve tried 4 independent coffee shops. Oddly enough my favorite place esthetically  isn’t even close to my favorite for coffee quality.  So here’s what ive found so far.
1.Fuego Coffee
So hipster it’s painful. And this is from the guy wearing skinny jeans and black rimmed glasses. However the coffee quality is amazing. I’ve had a cold brew and a Latte and both had really great flavor. I’m a huge fan so far.
2. New Roots Cafe
This place is every bit as hippy as its name indicates. It’s in a converted house with study rooms and music practice rooms. Very relaxing vibe. Coffee wise, I’ve tried a hot dark roast and of course the obligatory Latte. Coffee was very good, I drink it black, and the Latte (no flavoring or sugar) is pretty smooth.
3. Java’s coffee
This place f**king kills esthetically. Picture the private den of an Anthropology professor/Aspiring artist/musician/obsessed book collector. and then make it a tad weirder. super comfortable, artsy atmosphere. The Coffee? A bit disappointing. Price was a little high for the latte and only came with two shots (ala Starbucks). And the quality? even with my requested two extra shots there was a noticeable weakness to it. I may give this place another shot because of the atmosphere, but the verdict doesn’t look great.
                 (this was an actual Java’s customer sitting across from me painting)
IMG_20170425_145519-01-01
3. Village bakery and Cafe
Normally i shy away from mall coffee places, but it’s an indie and it was that or Starbucks. Small footprint, kinda crowded. There’s a little loft over the main floor with tables, but this is really a grab and go kinda place. They supposedly make all their own baked goods, but i didn’t try.Probably a good thing because this is where i messed up. I ordered a flavored Latte, French toast to be exact, and by time i got to the opposite side of the mall i had a mild stomach ache from the sweetness. The bored teenage girl behind the counter apparently used the entire bottle of flavoring. I might give their straight coffee a try next time, but my opinion of mall coffee shops still stands.
4. Union place coffee roasters
It’s hard to rate this place. It’s really not a coffee shop, it’s truly a coffee roasters. They roast right on site and sell it there. They only have one of their coffee’s brewed each day to showcase for customers, which they only charge a buck for if you get larger than the sample cup. The French roast I tried was decently strong, with really good flavor, black of course. I’ll probably go back and grab a bag when i have an apartment.
I estimate i have another 7-10 local coffee places to try, plus there’s a few Spot coffee’s and Norma Jeans (both Chains) that I’m sure I’ll hit eventually. I hope if you ever hit the greater Rochester area, this helps.
Know a place in Rochester I should try? Drop it in the comments.
Leave a Reply

