And the Hypocrite of the week is….

melissa-mccarthy-weight-loss (1)

So, many people have been remarking lately that Melissa McCarthy has lost a good amount of weight, reportedly 50lbs, over the last few months. She’s slimming down slowly in an apparently healthy way. Good for her, right?

Maybe.

Here’s a little background. I’m 6’6″ and have had a lot of different weights. At my biggest i was well over 300 lbs and at my slimmest 217lbs. I’ve been fat. A lot. And every time it’s been strictly my fault, my bad eating habits, my laziness.

But during a lot of those same years  Melissa McCarthy, who is 5’2″, has weighed in at roughly 200 lbs and a size 19. And for all of those years she has declared war on anyone that dared to mention her weight. Some people have gone about it without tact, but she has used a blanket napalm approach on everyone, essentially demanding that any discussion of her weight is automatically is off limits and fat shaming. She’s a beautiful, healthy plus size woman and that’s the end of the story.

Until now. Now she wants to talk about her weight. Now she want to tell everyone:

the actress’ real weight loss secret? To stop stressing out.

“I feel amazing and I finally said, “Oh, for God sakes, stop worrying about it’ and it may be the best thing I’ve ever done,” she said.

That’s it, she stopped worrying and 50 lbs just fell off. I’m impressed.

I’m also disturbed about the message it sends. If she wants to be a role model, shouldn’t she be talking about her diet, exercise & fitness routines? Or is it ok to tell teenage girls that are desperately unhappy about their weight that all they have to do is “stop stressing” and those pounds will melt off?

If you’re going to make huge statements and attack your detractors, you’ve taken on the mantle of a spokesman or role model, that’s just the way it is. So maybe now is the time to be responsible and use your status in a responsible, helpful way.

Leave a Reply

