My Thoughts on Hunger Games…

Dear Makers of the Hunger Game Movie:

So I went and saw your film today. Let’s get a few things clear, I’m not your core demo, I’m over 30, male, straight and love to read. That last part is important because it means I read the book before seeing the movie. Now I wasn’t a huge fan of the book, it was an easy read, decent plot and an enjoyable enough way to pass a couple of hours but it sure wasn’t Shakespeare. I may or may not read the rest of the books, I’m pretty ambivalent at this point.

Having said that, you screwed up. The first 20 minutes of the movie straight up sucked and it only improved to “okay” status from there. You managed to minimize the back story and make the characters shallow and one-dimensional. With the exception of Jennifer Lawrence and maybe Woody Harrelson you made some of the worst casting choices possible. Neither of the male leads held any charm, charisma or obvious acting ability and not a single competitor in the hunger games themselves was fleshed out enough for the audience to care if they lived or died.

Now I know your defense, it’s a two-hour movie, you can’t possibly fit in everything that’s in the book…blah, blah, blah… Great argument, but then why did you add things that weren’t in the book? And if it’s so hard to do, how did Lord Of The Ring and  Harry Potter do it so well? In both of those franchises you actually gave a crap about the characters. You simply took liberties that made this a pretty but shallow film.

Maybe i would’ve like it better had I not read the book, but to be honest that shouldn’t be something I need to worry about when seeing a movie. If you can’t honor the original source material, maybe you shouldn’t try.

$160 million its first weekend means I’m in the minority, but still, this was hollywood fluff at its most mediocre.

Sincerely,

Someone who wants to be entertained without having their intelligence insulted.

 

*After seeing this I’m now dreading The Great Gatsby & On The Road even more. I’m afraid this is going to be the summer of butchering books*

2 thoughts on “My Thoughts on Hunger Games…

  1. Amen. I’m staying away from all the hype. I don’t even know what it’s about, but if I could ride on Suzanne Collins coattail and get some fucking recognition for my shit, then what the Hell?!

    1. The book wasn’t a bad read, it was definitely Young Adult and a bit overrated but i don’t regret picking it up.

      I agree though, would love to see a pic in the press of the author holding one of my books…

Leave a Reply

