Why McDonalds can kiss my ass….

For those of you that don’t know, I’m a HUGE dog person. I work with them at a shelter, help with adoption events and even created and maintain a website for the local shelter. Over the last year as I’ve spent time with dogs, a good portion of that time has been with pit bulls. Pit bulls probably account for 60-70% of what comes into the shelter and over the last year what I’ve learned is this;

Pit bulls are some of  the sweetest, most trusting, loving, caring, happy dogs you will ever have the pleasure of dealing with.

The majority of dogs that come into our shelter with behavior problems? bite issues? hating kids? hating cats? NOT pit bulls. I’ve probably had hands on contact with well over 100 pit bulls in the last year and out of all of them, 2 were put down for being a danger. that’s 2 out of over 100. And in both of these cases they were dogs trained to be aggressive and fight by their former owner. And that’s what it comes down to. Pit bulls aren’t dangerous on their own. They are dangerous with bad owners.

So when McDonald’s decided to air the following radio ad for their new chicken nuggets. I had to respond.

http://saveabull.com/mcdonalds-pit-bull-ad-audio-included/

What McDonald’s has done here, while intended as a “joke” is irresponsible and dangerous. For years the media has exploited any pit bull related issue, causing a hysteria that has led to pit bulls being banned in several cities and counties in the U.S.

The fact that a fast food “restaurant” that serves millions of people every year would intentionally help promote a very negative stereotype just to sell a new product is disgusting.

Now I know there are a lot of people out there that like McDonald’s, and I’d never ask you to boycott. But what I would ask is this: call McDonald’s at 1-800-244-6227 and let them know that this is unacceptable. Recently people used their voices to shut down SOPA and PIPA. Now I’m asking you to use your voice one more time to help eradicate a stereotype that leads to the mass euthanasia of defenseless dogs that did nothing more than have the wrong owner or simply be guilty of being born a pit bull. And yes, cities like detroit and Miami automatically euthanize all pit bulls, including newborn puppies, if they are seized or surrendered.

remember, these animals can’t speak for themselves, it’s up to us.

 

*As of today Mcdonalds has pulled the ad but blamed it on a “local market” and apologized in a very half-hearted, pathetic way. Maybe Mcdonalds should nbot spend the cost of the Pit Bull ad on awareness and education or just doate to the ASPCA. Please still call and make your voice heard*

2 thoughts on “Why McDonalds can kiss my ass….

  1. Hi, Glen! I don’t know if you remember me but you published some poetry I wrote in 63 Channels about 2-4 years ago. I have to say that I disagree with you. I’m a Detroiter and people leave these animals out to wander all over the city. I feel for you because I’m a dog lover too, but it’s tragic when you see owners abusing their dogs, and it’s happened in Detroit. I’ve heard so many bad stories that if I saw an animal, especially a pit bull, I would run in the other direction. People who bring their animals into shelters usually those animals are not aggressive. Its the ones that are “wild” that you have to worry about. Thanks for sharing!

    1. Thanks for actually proving my point. There are massive issues in Detroit because people abuse the dogs, neglect them, let the run free and train them to fight, which, as i’ve tried to point out time after time, means this is bad owners at the root of the problem, not bad dogs.your misconception is based on the way dogs act after being treated badly in one city in the country. This is the definition of a stereotype.

      And if you think every dog that comes into a shelter is a good dog that the owners just couldn’t take care of, you need to actually go spend time at a shelter. we get dogs seized from their owners for abuse, abaondoment, stray dogs, dogs thrown out of moving cars, dogs with behavioral problems and much much more…

      thanks for your thoughts, and thanks for your support of 63 Channels back in the day!

Leave a Reply

